I Doodle, You ‘Ku – That’s a Wrap

Yesterday was the last day of the (first?) “I Doodle, You ‘Ku” challenge. I’ve already been asked if this is going to become an annual thing. I’m not sure! My guess is that we’ll find out come next March. Needless to say, I would call this year a success as I’ve watched poets jump in, build relationships with one another, and comment on each other’s poetry. It’s definitely encouragement to do this again in the future.

So what happens in the meantime?

I’ve compiled links to all 31 days of doodleku over here. If you missed a few days, feel free to go back and catch up; if you want to just go back and reread some of the stellar poems everyone wrote, that’s cool too.

As I mentioned at the beginning of the month, at the end, I planned to release a PDF, to be titled Things with Wings, with my favorite poems for each doodle. I’m about halfway through, and need some time to sort through everything over the second half of the month. So many good poems. So hard to choose. There’ll be some time between now and the PDF collection’s release, so if you want to get some last minute poems in, go for it! The goal is to have it out by the end of April. If nothing else, it should be a nice way to wrap up National Poetry Month.

In the meantime, thank you, all, for playing along with me this month. The response was more than I could have imagined. The positive feedback, the discussion on other blogs, and everyone’s kind words gave me new confidence in my drawing capabilities (l still call them ‘doodles’ however), something I felt I’d never regain after a major slump in high school. It’s been a privilege to host you all (and your poems)!

Doodleku on!

Tagged ,

9 thoughts on “I Doodle, You ‘Ku – That’s a Wrap

  1. Thank you, Aubrie, for this opportunity! I’ve enjoyed all your doodles. In fact, I look forward to your doodle every day. I can’t wait to see what’s next and what everybody would be posting. ๐Ÿ™‚ Looking forward to the next one!

    I’ll be emailing you after I’ve come up with some fox and/or dream haiku. I’d like to submit 1-2 haiga. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Dear Aubrie,

    Thanks again. Your new confidence in your special drawing gift and skills is wonderful. The feedback we all receive on our blogs is great. In my own way, I understand…I was a teacher and also well know about recovery of one’s gifts, trying again, renewal.

    Best wishes, Ellen

  3. Kris Kennedy says:

    Thanks Aubrie, I am so glad I found your site through another blog. I had so much fun creating along with your “doodles”. You have a talent, not only with drawing, but with developing and creating interest in bringing people together. I am glad I am one of those people. Kris

  4. angie werren says:

    thank you, aubrie!
    it was tremendously fun.
    ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. Cara Holman says:

    Ditto what everyone else said, Aubrie. ๐Ÿ™‚ It was so much fun to come here every day and see where your prompt would lead us next. Thank you for all your fun and creative ideas!

  6. sanjuktaa says:

    You’ve got me addicted, Aubrie! Am going to suffer withdrawal symptoms for a few days ๐Ÿ˜€
    Thanks Aubrie!

  7. Maria Santomauro says:

    Thank you, Aubrie! It was fun!

  8. Peter Newton says:

    Aubrie you bringer-together-of-poets

Leave a Reply

