I Doodle, You ‘Ku

Back in January, I asked via Facebook if followers and fellow poets would be interested in a month where I doodled, and asked others to write poems for the doodles. Met with a resounding yes, I said I would aim for March… and well, March is just a few hours away.

The concept is simple: Every day I will post a doodle, and everyone is invited to write a haiku, or tanka, or small stone to accompany it and post it in the comments. Write as many as you like! Have fun with it.

If you’re new to doodleku, simply click the “doodleku” tag on the post. It’s essentially haiga with doodles, although sometimes there’s a little more overlap in image and poem content than may be acceptable in haiga. It’s meant to be exceptionally playful.

At the end of the month, I will select my favorite poem written for each doodle and put them together in a PDF like Language of Dragons and Tea with Trolls, and upload it to the blog. But please don’t let this keep you from being too competitive—just have fun!

First doodle will go up at midnight US EST!

I Doodle, You ‘Ku

18 thoughts on “I Doodle, You ‘Ku

  1. […] Now that February NaHaiWriMo has come to a close, I have found a new daily challenge to love. The talented Aubrie Cox is posting a haiga style doodle on her blog Yay Words every day, and inviting people to write their own small stone, haiku, or tanka responses in the comments. Her initial post is here. […]

  2. Hi Aubrie, I tried my best to resist! I told myself i needed a break (after aros and nahaiwrimo). But the temptation is proving too much! I think I’ll just jump in, though perhaps i may not write every day. Hope that is ok? And you said ” as many as you like”, right?

Leave a comment